When hurt is Inevitable.

My baby sister cut her finger. She’s two and a half. She came crying to me saying I should have a look. After wrapping it up I asked if it still hurt and she didn’t understand.

Whad is hurt” she gasped

I pressed it a bit and she gasped even louder.

That is hurt my love” I said kissing her cheek.

What exactly is hurt?
Well I think it varies according to individual perspective. The other day I dashed my foot against a stone, the irony. It hurt.
I failed a mock exam cause I didnt study when I should have and could have. It hurt as well.
Two years ago my best friend died in a plane crash. It hurt real bad.

I made a harsh discovery of other dimensions of hurt. I have come to learn that there are several unending levels. With every new level there’s a new devil. Theres a new war to fight on the inside. Now looking upward its clearer. Back then I was blinded by a naive perception of the characters surrounding me. Thinking every one is like you is the first mistake. Believing that having a good heart makes every ones heart good as well. Yeah we all learn that the hard way.

Hurt is inevitable when you give too much and get too little, you go too far and end up with just a stones throw in return. Dive so deep it seems like you’re drowning all for some person who wont bother to step in the water for you talk less of making shallow surface waves. You tolerate the worst but your little mistakes are aired out.

When you become transparent in an opaque scenery. You go against every instinct in your being and do what you think is right only to have it backfire. Hurt is inevitable when in that moment of genuine realness and weakness you bare yourself to the wrong person, oh get ready cause it’ll hurt like fire. And at that point when its hurting the fog clears and you are able to see who is really there for you or those who were just a mirage.

The only one capable but unwilling to hurt you in the true sense of the word is God. This being because we are surrounded by ungodly beings who are willing and able as a matter of fact to hurt us. It is when the only one you have to rely on is the big guy up there who’s canvas is the sky, the most high that you can be sure of a hurt free or at least hurt resistant lifestyle.

You have to realise that the hurt some times needs your consent to take root and is like storing up poison that is capable of eating you up on the inside, its a dark veil preventing you from seeing the happiness that lies before you. You must indeed take if off and pour it out.

Even at that its never the end of the world. You little fighter. Baby girl still went back to play with what cut her. Now she’s a tad bit more careful. But when she’s had enough, she’ll drop it like it’s hot and move on.

Darling, what if I may ask is stoping you?


14 thoughts on “When hurt is Inevitable.

Leave a comment